Degree of freedom filtering with HARP for CH4 S5P files

Hi everyone,

I am working on a project that is looking to use a time-series of S5P data to identify CH4 trends/ sources etc. I have never used S5P data before so please excuse any obvious mistakes I make. I initially tried to use arcGIS to convert from L2 to a L3 gridded product although this did not work. I have since found the HARP library and I have followed the RUS training webinar (pollution monitoring with Sentinel-5p) to understand how to process to L3 data.

The project requires two data quality filters to be applied to the CH4: a qa_value filter (to be set at 0.5 initially and then adjust to either increase or decrease if needed) and a degree of freedom filter of methane to only include >1 : (PRODUCT/SUPPORT_DATA/DETAILED_RESULTS/degrees_of_freedom_methane) to only include values >1.

I have checked the entire forum but nobody seems to mention the degree of freedom filter. I have also checked the ingestions page and this does not seem to mention a variable.
http://stcorp.github.io/harp/doc/html/ingestions/S5P_L2_CH4.html

Is there a way in which this can be done using HARP? If not i would appreciate any advice/ example on how I could do this?

Thanks
Ty

For the quality filtering you should use what is published by ESA, which is described in the PRF documents on the ESA Sentinel-5P site. The current filtering recommendation is only based on the QA value.

Be aware that in HARP you will have to use CH4_column_volume_mixing_ratio_dry_air_validity>50, since HARP maps the validity value directly to the stored integer value (and does not convert the value to a fractional floating point value).

1 Like

Hi Sander,

Many thanks for your reply. I will only filter using the QA value.

Thanks
ty

Hi Sander,